Friends with kids


Nablopomo’s theme this month is friends. It is not obligatory to write on the subject, it’s only a prompt. If you read this blog regularly, you know that friendship is something I write about once in a while. It’s as mysterious to me as love.

Last night while I was walking from the metro station to my appartment, I was thinking about V. I asked her yesterday to connect to me in LinkedIn and she wrote back asking about it. It just made me think how I don’t see her anymore since she had her kids. I only have 3 friends with kids.

One has recently become a foster home in process of adopting. I don’t see her much.

Another has a 11 or 12 year-old and I get to see her every once in a while when she arranges for her boyfriend or her mom to babysit.

And V. I saw V. twice since she had her 2nd daughter more than 3 years ago.

I wonder what my life is going to be like with kids. I fear I am going to lose my friends. I would rather feel guilty to leave the kids with my boyfriend than lose my friends. What makes a happy woman is balance between all the spheres of her life. It isn’t easy with work, friends, gym, family, etc. But this is what I want.

For this to happen, I have to trust my boyfriend enough to let him participate. And it just turns out that I want him to take charge while I’m not there. It wouldn’t be healthy to be the only one taking care of the kids or the house and I want a relationship that is a team. Sometimes he goes away with friends, sometimes I go away with friends. We share the food prep, the cleaning and one day, I hope, we will share the responisibility for the kids.

My friends are important to me and I want to keep them. I also want to keep my gym time.🙂

Commentaires fermés sur Friends with kids

Classé dans La vie de couple, La vie de famille

Les commentaires sont fermés.