Bonjour mon amie !


Hello mon amie,

Here is the email I started writing but I got a virus and had to shut it down.

I’m so happy you wrote !!

I have a note in the box that tells you why I sent the box early. I thought that if I had no news it could mean that you’re super busy or maybe things were sad or insane and I knew that sending something would cheer you up. I find it hilarious that you haven’t opened the box yet and that you know that if you send my Christmas presents early I will open them immediately.🙂

Go ahead and open the box ! There are birthday presents along with Christmas presents. I didn’t know you are turning 40. I love big birthdays like this. I’m glad I sent you everything I picked out for you in Québec and Ottawa. Happy 40 mon amie ! I’m glad I met you.

I am so glad for you that you are not moping around. Too bad you’re not going to New York but you seem fine with it. For ****, I am glad to see that you chose to get off instead of being mad. You have so many things going on already ! I didn’t know your brother separated this year. It’s so sad ! It’s great that you will see your nephew for Christmas. I hope you have a nice and peaceful Christmas and new year’s.

Things are good. J-L has finished school and is starting his training in January. If things go well he might be hired. Besides that things are probably the same as when I wrote you the note in the box. But he decided to make dinners by himself until the 23rd. He’s tired of eating chicken. Hehehe. I could eat chicken every day ! He has been really helpful since school ended. He cleans the dishes every day, he cooks, he goes grocery shopping…

For Christmas Eve we are going at my mom’s. Christmas day will be spent at my godmother’s. New year’s is in Ottawa. This year it’s at N’s place (J-L’s sister) and it’s far from downtown so no hotels or B&Bs. We are sleeping at her place. I bought her a hostess gift, an expensive box of chocolate shooters (it was an impulse buy, a coup de Coeur).  I am expecting lots of comments about grandkids from both families. Blah. But N has a new house and I want to see it. Also, she is kind of “the one who got away”, she’s either very shy or very suspicious which means I barely talked to her in the time I have been with J-L and she’s intriguing to me. Because she’s reserved. I am so weird. I feel like she’s a challenge and I won’t feel like “I made it” until she adds me to her Facebook friends. Hahaha !!

While buying N’s gift I bought myself the same plus another box of chocolates because I didn’t know this chocolatier (Talie) and wanted to experience her products.🙂 I bought for 98$ of chocolates…insane. You were mentioning your credit card…I’m in the same boat. My braces cost so much that Christmas mostly went on my credit card. I will have to be better prepared for birthdays and Christmas in the next two years.

I’m going in Milwaukee in May !! Remember how I don’t travel much ? I really enjoyed my trip in Halifax and for my work I went to Québec and Sherbrooke. For my work again, a conference, I’m going to the States ! As you can see by the “!”, I’m excited. I love travelling for work. Expenses are paid plus it lasts only a few days. I have to get my passport. The conference is at a fancy hotel and I would like to stay there but to make sure everything is covered I will have to stay somewhere less expensive.

Besides that, an aunt from my mom’s boyfriend’s side died this week and I learned of it on Facebook. Again. This sucks and that is why I have to keep my account. If I don’t I won’t know when a family member dies or has an accident. I got an email from my mom two days later after my aunt died. I wasn’t close to her but I want to know anyway. My mom is really sad about it. This aunt was really kind to our family when my mom started dating R. My aunt’s husband was a close-minded man who treated my mom like she was a pitoune (low-class woman) because she was divorced and she and R weren’t married. S was always nice to us, J-P and S gave jobs to my godfather and my godmother (brother and sister) when they were on welfare. I’m so grateful for that. S made my mom laugh and she always tried the food we brought to potlucks. I’m sad for my mom. S was a kind woman.

Did you open your birthday gifts yet ? Did you have a nice birthday ? Has Andy surprised you ?

Hugs,

Your friend, always !

2 Commentaires

Classé dans La vie de couple, La vie de famille

2 réponses à “Bonjour mon amie !

  1. what a nice letter! When you go to Milwaukee, you HAVE to stay a couple of days and take the ~1hr train to Chicago!!! Chicago is such a great town and you HAVE to see it if you will be so close!🙂 We have an office there and I go 2x/year and just love it! You may even need to fly in/out of Chicago anyway!!

    • Unfortunately I will be on a tight schedule. I might have to stay only a few days, not even for the whole conference because it’s so expensive. My boss and I checked the planes and if I take Delta Airlines I have a correspondence in Detroit or Minneapolis. With Air Canada it would be Montreal-Toronto-Milwaukee. Once I have my passport I might go to Chocago just for fun.