Friend crush


« Love is friendship on fire ».North of 60

I have a friend crush. I have those once in a while and they are like love at first sight. Think Anne Shirley with Diana Barry. Bosom friends, kindred spirits. My friend crushes are intense, passionate, consuming, a bit on the obssessive side.

Sounds crazy, scary and creepy.

So is love.

And the higher my crush goes, the harder it is when it comes down and becomes a crash. I hope I am better now that I’m older and understand a few things more. Now that I know that my friendships are like that, that I know how they run their course just like any relationship.

I went to a professional happy hour and I met her there. She was sitting beside me and we started talking. She lives near where I live, has the same profession, is 3 years younger than I am and she lights up fireworks in my mind. I talk with her and I’m all fired up and this is hard to do. I’m bored easily and uninterested by most conversations. Anyway, we became Facebook friends and then I got an email because she was going to a conference and wanted to know if I was going to be there. I wasn’t but I seized the opportunity to see her again by asking her on a « date » when I got used to my braces. I know she likes a portuguese restaurant I like too.

She called today and we chatted for at least an hour. She cried at a time, we laughed, we asked questions, shared doubts and experiences as well as very personal stuff.

Turns out she had been thinking of me since we met just like I had. She thought that maybe I was nice to her just « because », just like I had. She was honest about it and I found that refreshing.

It looks and feels like when I would get all riled up after meeting a guy and imagining stuff. In this case it’s not imagined but it’s the same with the thinking I have a new friend. Like when I met a guy and started asking myseld if I had a boyfriend. That was a long time ago but in my friendships, I’m still that way. I only met her twice and we talked on the phone. Ayayaye.

I had this kind of a crush with L. and it developed in a friendship by correspondence. Another one has turned into a crash and we could never recover from it. I’m sure I have other ones…

Anyway, I just have to stop writing. I am up since 4am and it’s almost 9pm. I went to the gym today, baked cookies and mini loaves and did the laundry and talked on the phone. I’m pooped.

Commentaires fermés sur Friend crush

Classé dans Général

Les commentaires sont fermés.