Booking Through Thursday : Discussion


« Do you have friends and family to share books with? Discuss them with? Does it matter to you? »

Sometimes it bothers me that I have noone to talk with about books. But at the same time, there are expectations that I analyze the book or not, that I like the book like everyone else, so, blah. People around me envy me because I can read in English and they make faces or comments. Some people say I should only read in French.  So, again, blah.

I rarely share books because I own psychology books that noone reads and novels that noone wants to read or they are in English. Why people don’t want to read Jane Austen or Lucy Maud Montgomery is astounding to me. I leave them the Twilight saga.

A friend of mine reads the Stephanie Plum books and the Sookie Stackhouse books…in French. We sometimes talk about it but we do not like the same things in them and we don’t see the humor in them the same way.

4 réflexions sur “Booking Through Thursday : Discussion

  1. Don’t ever let anyone make you feel uncomfortable for being able to speak and read in more than one laguage! There is so much French literature that I wish I could read in French but I have never had the opportunity to learn it properly. Something always gets lost in translation. I used to be in a book group but found, like you, there was pressure to like something when I didn’t. Not a Harry Potter fan! I mostly share books with my family who read a lot and they share with me.

    Thanks for stopping by the dinner for two project!

  2. opepellAgom dit :

    hiya

    great forum lots of lovely people just what i need

    hopefully this is just what im looking for looks like i have a lot to read.

Les commentaires sont fermés.