Happy ICLW!!


Happy ICLW ! I look forward to having news of blogs I read during the ICLW week and discovering new blogs. My (blog) name is Terry Elisabeth, I will be turning 36 in August. I don’t drive, don’t have an Ipod, don’t have a TV or a stereo. Bless the internet. I love cupcakes. I participate in many memes. And I blog in French and English. If you want to read posts in French, there is a widget to translate it in English and a page of Québécois language to help you with untranslatable words. Yep. Québécois. Vive la poutine !

I started participating in ICLW because I liked the idea of having a long list of blogs to read and comment and receiving visits as well. During that first week, I discovered it was all about infertility…and I decided to continue visiting and participate in ICLW because it has changed me. I can’t describe how. It has broadened my horizon. It finally answered questions I dared not ask. Around me I have people who are infertile, had miscarriages, took what looks like forever to get pregnant. And I was told by my mom it was impolite, rude, to ask questions. The person would be sad. So I never asked questions. But in my experience (as an adult), it does no good to act like everything is okay when it’s not. I think that by asking questions we allow the other person to talk. Sure this person will be sad and being sad is okay. Angry too. But asking questions is a way of being there. Being present. I think that reading all those blogs has made me a bit more attentive and caring. It was very difficult to read the posts at first. Not a day goes by that I don’t think about you guys.

I hope none of this sounds condescending or I don’t know what. I’m sorry if it does. It is not my intention. Enough tiptoeing, this is me being honest.🙂

I don’t have kids yet. I plan to. I can hear you laugh. This is something of a miracle, it can’t be planned. What I mean to say is I hope to have some.

Oh and I think Céline Dion should give money to infertility research !!

16 Commentaires

Classé dans Général

16 réponses à “Happy ICLW!!

  1. A Mama 2 Twins

    Found your blog on ICLW. I am an invertility SURVIVOR! We battled male factor and unexplained infertility and arrived at the other side with our little miracles (thanks to IVF and ICSI)

    Feel free to stop by! I am #42 on the list!

  2. I don’t actually deal with any of those problems either but I think you hit on something very important. I’ve always found that people are relieved, not saddened, when someone comes out and asks them (respectfully and tactfully) to tell their story. People actually feel better when they get to talk about it instead of carrying it around by themselves. Burdens are easier to carry when someone carries it with us. So that’s great that you have the courage. I did that once with a fellow student whom I noticed had cuts on her arm. I asked her if she cuts herself and she started to cry. But then she came out and told me her entire story (she USED to cut; not anymore) and how it brought her to her devotion of kung fu and we have been close friends ever since.

  3. I don’t drive, don’t have a smart phone, and am obsessed with cupcakes, so we can be friends. 🙂

  4. Happy ICLW to you too. Seems we have a lot in common. I don’t drive, don’t have an Ipod, don’t have a TV or a stereo and I also love cupcakes and I enjoy making them, especially the vegan variety.🙂 Enjoy the week, and look forward in engaging with you all the way throughout it. I’m also a ICLW participant, and have been dropping by a bit quite recently.

  5. Here from ICLW, so hello! As an infertile, it’s actually nice to hear you say that it’s not always a good idea to act like everything is okay when it isn’t. The trick is, of course, asking the right questions… for the right reasons. And if you’re taking part in ICLW, clearly you want to understand as much as you can. That’s impressive, and the infertile people in your life are probably very happy to have you on their side. Thanks for taking an interest!🙂

  6. It’s refreshing to know that there is someone in the world who understands us.

    Just because we don’t have kids, doesn’t mean we dont want that.

    Thanks for knowing that. Thanks for caring enough to know that.

    Ashlee- ICLW #180

  7. Happy ICLW! You are so correct. I think part of the « problem » with infertility is that it is such a silent disease! No one wants to ask questions…even if you don’t ask qustions…people who are struggling with infertility are still hurting! Give them a chance to talk and to hurt out loud! Thank you for being open! Have a great week!

  8. That is so beautiful. You must have a high emotional maturity.

  9. I am visiting from ICLW. One of the hardest things about dealing with infertility for 7 years and now being in the adoption process is that nobody ever talks to me about it at family reunions, parties, etc. Sure they will go ahead and talk about it behind my back. Even ask my mom questions. But nobody talks to me. Or if I try to talk, they shut me down and say they understand and it will all be okay…before I even finish my first sentence about it. I appreciate that you are the kind of person that is open to listen and really hear. That’s awesome.

    Also, I LOVE cupcakes….baking them, decorating them, looking at pictures of them, and of course eating them🙂

    • I think people are afraid of not saying the right thing. They are afraid of your sadness and frustration. Unfortunately it does not give you space to voice your concern. I hope that the adoption proceedings are going well. It can be so long and nerve wrecking !