Booking through Thursday : Now or Then ?


Do you prefer reading current books? Or older ones? Or outright old ones? (As in, yes, there’s a difference between a book from 10 years ago and, say, Charles Dickens or Plato.) Go to Booking through Thursday for other participants’ thoughts.

It depends what mood I’m in or if I decided to read a particular author. I don’t think I have a preference…okay, I think I love current books better. With current books, I just have to go through the new arrivals at the library or subscribe to the feed while for older books I have to look for them. It’s a laziness thing I guess.

But when I hear of a book and I want to read it it does’nt matter to me what year it was written in and sometimes I read everything the author has  written. Lucy Maud Montgomery and Jane Austen particularly.

I started with Anne of Green Gables (Anne…la maison aux pignons verts) when I was 10 and when I discovered the other books at the library (when I was 17) I read them all. When I started reading well enough in English I looked for the books in English and read all of them in the oldest edition I could order through the interlibrary loan. Anne, Emily, Kilmenny, Victoria Jane…short stories, long novels and series.

Obviously Jane Austen’s novels are old but I have read them in a recent edition. I read everything I could find. First, I read the books in French. And then I read some of the books in English.

When I start a series, like the Sookie Stackhouse novels, I don’t care what year it was written in. I start with the first volume and end up reading the current books. I just finished the before last book and my heart is squeezing because I only have one last book to read.

7 Commentaires

Classé dans Général

7 réponses à “Booking through Thursday : Now or Then ?

  1. I agree…as long as it jumps out at me and seems interesting, I will try reading it.🙂

    Here is my answer to Booking Through Thursday!

  2. With a series like Sookie Stackhouse (which I still haven’t gotten to read) I almost prefer to wait until the entire series has been released before I start reading it. That way, I’m not caught waiting for the next book to come out and being held in suspense for a year or more. Great answer!

  3. I don’t like reading very old books, I’m not interested in the way they wrote. I am interested in books written in the 40s, 50s and 60s. not that long ago but there was still a big difference in the way people wrote. I do however enjoy a current thriller.

    (whatwoudldjendo.com)

  4. I loved reading Anne of Green Gables when I was around 11. I was just telling hubby the other day that I might just have to read it again! I love current, best sellers, I always find one I want to read.

  5. It blows my mind your level of mastery of English.
    I had some college French and like to play at seeing what I can make out of your French posts.
    To read books in another language – wow. What a talent you have besides all your creativity.