You Capture : Sweet


Wouhouuu !! Isn’t it perfect that this week’s You Capture is Sweet ? When I have to post about my cupcake tasting ? In-cre-di-ble. Well, to me it is.

To those who don’t know what You Capture is…follow the link ! Hosted by Beth.

So for my cupcake testing I bought some at 4 places in Montreal. 3 renowned places and one coffee shop who just happened to have cupcakes for Easter. I had to do this on multiple weeks, I would have exploded ! I wrote this post from worst to best. What counts as very good cupcake to  me is a cupcake where the cake is fresh, there is no lingering fatty impression in the mouth after the tasting, there is plenty of frosting, the frosting is not grainy, it must taste good and it must look spectacular.

First of all, the cupcakes from La Tazza on rue Wellington. La Tazza is a very cute coffee shop. They sell mostly European products, they sell coffee and Kusmi tea as well. They happen to have cupcakes. I bought one when J-L and I decided to stop there to drink something warm while we were shopping.

This cupcake is chocolate with vanilla frosting. I bought it just after Easter and I should have known that after easter, if they still had themed cupcakes, it was not going to be fresh. Too sweet, cute but dry.   Even with all the decoration, they looked homemade which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

Second, Itsi Bitsy on rue Notre-Dame in St-Henri. To my chagrin, Itsi did not deliver its promise this time. I had a greasy feeling in my mouth after having eaten the cupcakes. My teeth felt fuzzy.

Maple-vanilla, Cosmo, Vanilla-coconut and Classic chocolate

Itsi Bitsy’s cupcakes are basic in their look. Colors are not funky. They are too sweet and a bit dry, there is not that much frosting on them. My boyfriend thought the Cosmo tasted too much of lime and it took all the place. I thought the chocolate cupcake was just too much and the coconut frosting was good but the cake was ordinary. I didn’t taste the maple at all in the maple-vanilla cupcake.

Cosmo cupcake : lots of lime, a bit of cranberry

Third, to my great surprise because I thought they would be third, Petits Gâteaux on avenue Mont-Royal. We bought mini cupcakes so we could sample more for less and they were better than the regular ones.

A special box to transport the mini cupcakes...would be more practical if the cupcakes stayed at their place !

The mini cupcakes were less dry than their bigger counterparts ! But still tasted like box cake. I like box cake once in a while but not on a 1.60$ or 3$ cupcake.

Raspberry-yogourt

The mini cupcake was vanilla, yogourt-raspberry and it was very good ! Not too sweet with a tartness that was refreshing. It was very cute too !

Vanilla-coconut, Coffee and Raspberry-yogourt

The blue cupcake is one I usually buy because I like the color. The frosting is great but…box cake.The frosting was grainy because of the sugar.

The brown one is coffee and it was good. It tasted like granulated coffee, not too sweet.

What is fun with mini cupcakes is that they have a lot of frosting !

My boyfriend ate Carrot, Banana-sucre à la crème and Vanilla. He gave 3* to Carrots, 2 stars for the two other ones. It means that Vanilla was ordinary, banana tasted like bananas but the sucre à la crème on top didn’t taste and Carrot was okay.

Fourth, the best in show as always, Les Glaceurs ! I have bought cupcakes three times and am always filled with awe and joy by their selection, by their beauty and taste. The Red Velvet is a popular choice there.

Red Velvet

Chocolate-coconut

As you can see, they are beautifully decorated and colorful. The cake is not always « unboxy » as in not box cake but it is fresh and the frosting is plentiful and delicious. Very sweet but in a « give me more » kind of way. They really are topped with frosting, no thin spread there.

Classic chocolate with an Eggie on top !

7 Commentaires

Classé dans You Capture

7 réponses à “You Capture : Sweet

  1. I am drooling looking at all these delicious photos!
    Happy ICLW!
    ~Miriam (ICLW #18)

  2. oneladyintheworld

    yay for les Glaceurs, I would like to go each week haha, maybe I should give another try to Petits Gâteaux. I liked Itsy bitsi when I went there but after, I saw in the picture of my cupcake that there was a little dust on my cake.
    Les glaceurs, will remain my favorite.
    Nice post I was really looking foward to read it, Nice pictures

  3. They look scrumptious. I don’t like dry cake either and I like a lot of frosting.

  4. Hello from ICLW🙂

    Oh my holy good gravy, I need to immediately book a flight to Montreal for some cupcakes!

  5. Bec

    I have been obsessed with cupcakes for the past few months- they are just so cute!

    • They are so darn cute and I have to taste them all. But I had the chance to buy tiny cupcakes and they were really beautiful but I was already buying chocolate so I when I return this summer, I will buy some. They were with a caramel fondant, some looked like they had a brownie base. Yummm

  6. anneawesome

    Yum.