Show and Tell 12


Show and Tell is wasted on elementary schoolers. Join several dozen bloggers weekly to show off an item, tell a story, and get the attention of the class. In other words, this is Show and Tell 2.0.


I love cookbooks. I have a whole bookshelf of cookbooks and magazines. I can’t get enough. It’s only because the books cost so much that I don’t get more. The Better Homes and Gardens CookBook and the Martha Stewart were given to me by my boyfriend our forst Chrsitmas together.

I have lots of cookbooks about desserts and cookies. I subscribe to Everyday Food, Real Simple, Châtelaine, Coup de Pouce and I started subscribing to Food Network Magazine. To me these magazines are pronography or art magazines. I read them, re-read them, re-re-re-read them. When I’m done with my Châtelaine, I give them to my neighbour. I also buy Clean Eating.

I received the Ultimate Cookie Book for my last birthday after pining after it for months and months. And my little sister gave me the Nutella cookbook. I bought my Jamie Oliver books in a used books store and I would like to find the 2nd Josée DiStasio in a used books store also. It’s where I got the first book.

I have sold some of my books and I have given some. I have given or recycled many magazines. I look at the pictures and the shelves seem empty to me.

Top shelf : Châtelaine, Coup de Pouce, Clean Eating, Cooking at Home and a cupcake transporter a friend gave me because she thought I was into baking cupcakes.

2nd shelf : Cook books !! Better Homes and Gardens, Dieticians of Canada, beautiful books I rarely use, whatever doesn’t fit on my other shelves.

3rd shelf : Everyday Food from 2007 to 2010. The older ones were recycled after I took out my favorite recipes.

4th shelf : Real Simple, same as Everyday Food. I had to make space !

5th shelf : Cookbooks !! Cookies, chocolate, reference, children cookbooks, Jean Pare, sandwiches, whatever…

Last shelf : Clippings and notes

Show and Tell is wasted on elementary schoolers. Join several dozen bloggers weekly to show off an item, tell a story, and get the attention of the class. In other words, this is Show and Tell 2.0.
22 réflexions sur “Show and Tell 12

  1. a dit :

    Wonderful! (Or to resurrect my high school French, tres bien!) I only have a shelf and a half of cookbooks, but some are vintage wonders I inherited from my aunt. My husband despairs of the pile of recipes I print off the internet or tear out of the newspaper or magazines! And oddly enough, I don’t actually cook that many different things…

    • pandabox33 dit :

      Gotta love those vintage books ! I love those written by congregations because they used to teach cooking classes.

  2. Wow! My sister-in-law loves cookbooks, too. I love it because she is always trying some delicious new recipe. I gave her Julia Child’s « Mastering the Art of French Cooking. » If you don’t have it, I got it for a great deal on Amazon. Bon appetit!

    • pandabox33 dit :

      I borrowed the volume 1 and I made her beef bourguignon. I also copied her recipes for chicken. It tastes good but the recipes are unnecessarily long and complicated. They are a good basis though and I might buy the volumes because they give great info on many things. Bon appétit !!

    • pandabox33 dit :

      Totally. I had to stop myself but I still buy a few every year and when I’m lucky, my mom or grandma get rid of one of their books and I get it.

  3. Wow! I want your collection! I love, love, love cookbooks as well. If The Hubs loses me in the bookstore, he always knows to look for me in the cookbooks =) Great photos!

  4. xjanesatticx dit :

    You sure have a lot of cookbooks, it’s impressive 🙂

    I love cooking too, I don’t really have the space here, for my kitchen would fit in one’s pocket! But I try too, mostly that my son loves it.

    Just today, I took the « bambins câlins » cookbook and we choose recipes for next week 🙂

    Cooking is fun and creative 🙂

    • pandabox33 dit :

      Planning recipes is so much fun ! And it saves you money because you buy only what is needed or you take stuff you already have. I have a couple of a magazine called Martha Stewart Kids and it has tons of recipes for kids andto do with kids, arts projects, decorating projects. My kids cookbooks are a bit of my recipes de base. For example : recipes for pancakes.

  5. Oh how awesome! I’m a recipe collector and love cookbooks too, even though I know squat about cooking! 😉 WIth recipes I can do anything, so that’s why I love them. I’m half-addicted to the food network too. Love your collection!

    • pandabox33 dit :

      Even if I know more than squat about cooking, I love cooking with recipes. I find them inspiring, a good base for doing something similar and I find them challenging at time. It gives me something to do and read and look at. 🙂

  6. What an amazing collection! WE have a lot of cookbooks, unfortunately they rarely get used… Here’s to new inspiration!

Les commentaires sont fermés.