No Christmas Tree


We don’t put up Christmas trees in my house or at my parent’s house. We decorate what we can. Like this…

Arbre de Noël chez mes parents

It used to freak me out. My grandparents started this in their basement. They decorated branches in a pot. The branches were painted silver. It took less space.

My parents continued this style of tree for the same reason and they don’t like the trouble of getting a tree or setting up an artificial one.

I do the same thing…when I have a tree or a plant sturdy enough to decorate. This year I don’t. Not enough space !

In the window you can see something that looks like a menorah (I think it’s called like this). My mom put this up because she had this in her box of decorations but it’s not a menorah. But it sure makes an impression from outside the house. It’s beautiful. Kind of like a lighthouse guiding the way for ships.

4 réflexions sur “No Christmas Tree

  1. petrichoric dit :

    I rather like your parents’ improvised Christmas tree. Who says that Christmas has to be all about tradition? It’s more fun the way your parents did it. That being said, I would like to have a proper Christmas tree eventually, but I’ve not had one for years because I’ve never really felt that anywhere I lived was really « home ». If I’m going to go to all the effort and expense of buying a Christmas tree (not a real one – they lose their needles all the time – but a classy fake one) and decorating it tastefully, then I want to feel that my place is really my home, not just somewhere I’m passing through.

    • pandabox33 dit :

      Oh I hope you find a real home someday, your nest, where you will feel comfortable and happy. Your place where you feel nothing bad can happen.
      I also hope I have a Christmas tree someday. But last night we had a party and I’m glad we didn’t have one. Not only because of the space it takes but we had 4 kids over and they were running around and acting silly and I can just picture a tree falling over or through the floor into my downstairs neighbor’s room.

  2. staciet dit :

    I love hearing the origins of family traditions. I can totally understand the use of a plant or branch because of no room! I think it looks pretty!

    Here from ICLW.

Les commentaires sont fermés.